Home > About Us > Standing Committees

Standing Committees

Ethics & Guidelines Committee

Chair: Dr Eric Klug 


Members : Prof John Lawrenson (PCSSA), Dr Jens Hitzeroth (SASCI), Dr Pieter van der Bijl, Dr Ruchika Meel (CISSA), Dr Ferande Peters, Dr Darshan Reddy (surgeon), Dr Samkelo Jiyana, Dr Graham Cassel, Dr Dirk Blom (co-opted, LASSA), Prof Frederic Michel (co-opted SASCAR), Mr Selvan Govindsamy (co-opted ISCAP)

Education Committee

Chair: Dr Blanche Cupido (CISSA) and Dr Marshal Heradien (co-opted),

Members : Prof Ashley Chin (CASSA), , Dr Nqoba Tsabedze, Prof Antoinette Cilliers, Dr Jane Moses (HeFSSA) , Dr Timothy Pennel (Surgical) , Dr Shungu Mogaladi, Dr Arthur Mutyaba (SASCI), Prof Justiaan Swanevelder, Dr Dirk Blom (co-opted, LASSA), Ms Kerry Moir (co-opted, ISCAP)

Co-opted convenor of annual congress
 : Subcommittee - Heads of cardiology departments : 
Prof M Ntsekhe (Groote Schuur/UCT), 
Prof M Nethononda (Baragwanath / Wits), 
Dr Hellmuth Weich (acting) (Tygerberg/Stellenbosch), 
Prof P Mntla (Medunsa/Limpopo), 
Dr N Tsabedze (Charlotte Maxeke /Wits), 
Prof M Makotoko (University Freestate)
Dr Sajidah Khan (Albert Luthuli/Natal), 
Prof A Sarkin (Steve Biko / Pretoria), 
Prof J Lawrenson (Red Cross/UCT/Paed) 
Prof Antoinette Cilliers (CH Baragwanath/Paed) 
Prof Steve Brown (Bloemfontein / Paed) 
Dr Ebrahim Hoosen (Albert Luthuli/Paed) 
Dr Adele Greyling (Port Elizabeth/Paed) 
Prof Lindy Mitchell (Pretoria/Steve Biko/Paed)

Dr Farouk Mamdoo - 2022 congress convenor

Private Practice Committee

Chair: Dr David Jankelow (co-opted)

Members : 

Dr Gavin Angel (SASCI)
Dr Andrew Asherson 
Dr Tawanda Butau
Dr Adele Greyling (PCSSA)
Dr Muso Mogwera

Dr Pieter van der Bijl (CISSA)

Dr Vernon Freeman (CASSA)